A very warm welcome is always guaranteed at the Douglas Hotel.
Original, relaxed and sitting comfortably within its environment... A touch of luxury combined with a homely charm. The Douglas opened in may 2011 after an extensive refurbishment and with a clear idea of what it wanted to provide - a hotel with a heart.
The team work hard to get that balance right - the perfect blend of ‘laid back relaxation’ combined with ‘professional and attentive'.
Boasting seven stunning courses across the island, including the 12-hole Shiskine course, ranked among the top 100 courses in the UK, the Isle of Arran is an ideal location for a golfing break.
The C - Listed Douglas Hotel has been on this site before the town of Brodick was established and has been a landmark in the town ever since. Locals and tourists over the years have fond memories of the Douglas Hotel which has played host to generations (often of the same family) enjoying special occasions at the Douglas Hotel and holidays on Arran. Its client history has been quite diverse, originally providing accommodation for associates of the Brodick Castle laird, the Duke of Hamilton, and more recently it has acted as the base for Royal Navy Submarine Commanders while completing their rigorous training on the Perisher course.
The original two and a half storey house is recorded in "Brodick Old and New" as being constructed in 1782 and is typical of this type of house from that period, It later became the local Doctor’s house and practice up until 1852 when it became a hotel. The red sandstone (quarried on Arran) and slate roofed two and a half storey hotel was constructed in front of the original house in 1858 and the grounds were landscaped at this stage. The first manager, Mr P Macdonald was brought over from "where he had one of the finest hotels in Glasgow by the Marquis of Douglas for whom he had been a yeoman" and he became a much respected member of the community.
This coincided with the removal of the island landing in 1856 from below Brodick Castle at the other side of Brodick Bay to its current pier location consequently encouraging an embryonic tourist trade. The 2.5 storey dining room/function suite wing to the west was added, matching the red sandstone and slate and mimicking the eaves details and chimneys of the original development.
A small two storey extension to the west and rear was added again matching the red sandstone and slate and mimicking the details of the original development. A large, two storey bay window was added to the front north facing facade subsequently enlarging the basement area, and giving rise to the look of the property in existence today.The recent rennovations have strived to ensure the integrity of the original building whilst at the same time bringing it firmly into the twenty first century.
The Douglas Hotel is the focal point for Arran's main village of Brodick and a perfect base for the discerning traveller. Sample the island’s finest collection of local food produce, whiskies, and wines, served in relaxing, intimate surroundings with spectacular views over Brodick Bay and onto Goat Fell.